diys

4-step DIY Bookmarks Even Kids Can Do

Last Friday, I received a call from a courier informing me that a certain author is sending me a copy of his book. I confirmed my address and thought I should buy a new bookmark for that upcoming book.

I do not always buy a new bookmark for every book I read. It just so happens that my bookmarks are busy page marking other books. I discovered this easy DIY bookmark and I want to share it with you.😉

The Materials
  • Paper – It can be a cardboard or even a bond paper. The type of paper does not really matter. Here, I used a construction paper that I have lying around the house. It has a bit of brown fiber as you will notice in most of the pictures.
  • Cutter – If you are doing this with your child, please supervise them or might as well use a pair of scissors.

DSC_0041

STEP 1: Cut a square.

It can be as small as 4in x 4 in or as big as a 6in x 6in. The bigger the square, the bigger will your bookmark be. Once you have your square, fold it in half to form a triangle like the one below.

STEP 2: Fold up.

Take each side of the triangle. Fold them towards the center to have a diamond.

STEP 3: Fold down.

Temporarily, open the flaps you folded up in Step 2. Fold down the top of the triangle halfway. Fold both sides. You can fold it inwards or outwards. Here, I folded them inwards to make my bookmark more secured.

STEP 4: Insert.

Once you have folded the top of the triangle downwards, your bookmark will have ears. Take those ears and insert then into your bookmark to have a triangle corner bookmark.

One last tip. You can decorate your bookmark any way you like it. You can put washi tapes, or the logo of your favourite superhero. If you have an extra comic book, you can use a page to create the bookmark.

group

How would you decorate your DIY bookmark? Share your thoughts. Comment below or drop me an email at mirriamdictionary@gmail.com ☺️

signature 2

21 thoughts on “4-step DIY Bookmarks Even Kids Can Do

  1. This is such a nifty idea and looks like easy to do even for my little man who is not too fond of arts and crafts! Am sure he will enjoy making these and designing them with his favorite Marvel superheroes, we will definitely make these this summer!

  2. I love the way it looks like in the end. It is so creative that I decided to make one for myself. I have a couple of bookmarks but none of them looks like this one. So, I’ll make one to look exactly like this you have made. Thank you for this excellent idea!

  3. Thanks for sharing. Got lots of bookmarks as well and they are, just like how you describe it – busy book marking pages.

    I like your DIY bookmark ideas. Possibilities are endless as you could decorate each bookmark the way you like it. I see myself as doing some bookmarks on a weekend.

  4. What a nice project for a child. Your instructions are clear and simple. The photographs are also helpful. And it’s wonderful for kids to have bookmarks because it encourages them to read.

    1. Indeed. These days, pdfs and ebooks take children’s interests away from printed books.

  5. Wow! I never thought of this. I will definitely let our kids here at home to give this a try. A perfect activity indeed for weekend breaks! Thanks for sharing your idea, Miriam. 🙂

  6. Cute!!! I want to try making these with my son. I think I want to make a teenage mutant ninja turtle set for him. He loves them and will appreciate it as something we can do together. Thanks for sharing!

    1. I think that’s a great idea! Please tag me on IG 😊 oh, and happy mother’s day ❤

Leave a comment