diys

No-Sew DIY Tank Top

Let’s admit it. Not everyone can sew but you still want to wear a pretty cute tank tap to the gym. I’ll let you in a little secret: a 3-step DIY tank top. No needles, no threads needed 😉

STEP 1: Prepare the materials.

You only need 2 things for this project. Yup, you read it right. Just 2 things: a big, old t-shirt (I got mine from my boyfie’s worn out white shirts) and a pair of shears.

1

STEP 2: Cut, cut, cut.

Lay the shirt on a flat surface. It can be your bed or a table. Cut along the red lines. (Check the photo below). You can cut the lower part depending on the length you want your no-sew tank top to be.

2.jpg

STEP 3: Tie it up.

From the leftover fabric you just cutout, cut a long strip about 0.5 inch think. Choose which side of the tank top you want to be the back part. Take the strip and put it underneath the back part of your no-sew tank top. Start tying together.

You can either tie a simple ribbon for a cutesy effect or tie it all the way like what I did to mine.

Do you have some fabric pens lying around the house? You can decorate and personalise it too! I love coffee, hence, I wrote caffeine queen on mine 😜☕️

5.jpg

What are you planning to write on your no-sew DIY tank top? How many will you make? Share your thoughts with us. Comment below or drop me an email at mirriamdictionary@gmail.com ☺️

signature 2

18 thoughts on “No-Sew DIY Tank Top

    1. Here summer starts already and I think this easy to do tank top is apt for the season. I dont wear sleeveless basically but wear tank tops with a jacket or shrug. I particularly loved the back detailing. It’s so pretty. It is economical and lovely than the tank tops we buy at stores. Additionally, we can also get the credits for making it. 🙂

      1. Indeed, we can! You are so right. Tank tops look lovelywith jackets 😍

  1. I love easy and uncomplicated DIY projects. I will be raiding my hubbies closet for some shirts he rarely uses and convert to tank tops. Hahaha! Like Mommy Berlin said in her comment, the no-sew tank top is really ideal for summer. Bring out the scissors! Wooohooo! Thanks for sharing this.

  2. Yes I did..I was just 11 years. Mother bought me a nice printed frock..But I didn’t like its sleeves. I preferred sleeveless. I just cut the fullsleeves and used ribbon to tie up.Later, Mother liked it.😃

  3. I like how you turn something new out of something old. I would leave out the letters to be honest. I would like it to be all white. Or maybe a big black chanel logo on it 😀 But i am a bit crazy about chanel haha!

  4. This is so cute! I love tank tops and I wear them all the time even in winter! (Okay, I wear them other things.) I also like the design you drew on it. But I have to ask, can you wear a bra under this one? I can’t see how it would be possible…

  5. Cute! Actually you don’t need a lot of sewing for this one unless you want to sew the sides so they won’t rip easily. I tried doing this to my shirt but with a different style. Maybe I’ll this one next 🙂

  6. If only I could have the courage to cut those out! Hahaha. Sometimes, the sentimental person or being in me wins in things like these. It’s fun to do a DIY. But, I remember doing something similar too. I was given a super large shirt. Like 2-3 sizes bigger than what I wear and I just had to cut it to feel more comfortable.

  7. That is nice. You can create a completely new clothes out of the old ones. Your boyfriend must be very proud of you. Aside from that, your tutorial is easy to follow. Keep it up! 🙂

  8. Wow! That is a cool practical idea. I was thinking of trashing away the oversized ones at home. But now I realize I can make better use of them. I have several colored ones too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

