book review · Reviews & Features

5 Quotes from Jane Eyre To Boost Any Dull Day

I have recently finished reading Jane Eyre (finally). If you have been following me on Instagram, you would know that I have been deliberately delaying myself to finish this book primarily because I feared that one of the characters would die. Fortunately, that character lived and had a fantastic marriage with the protagonist.

Why I love this book

Jane Eyre is a classic by one of the few female romanticist writers, Charlotte Brontë (a.k.a Currer Bell). I love this book so much for two main reasons.

First, its main theme is women empowerment. How so? The book was written by Brontë during the time when female writers are unwarranted and the main character exhibited that women can achieve their desires by showing a strength of character. Although Brontë used a pseudonym to hide her true identity, I would say her mere act of writing Jane Eyre to express herself is one imbued with fortitude.

Second, this book made me realize that I am a Brontë girl instead of an Austen girl. I am writing this not because one can love Jane Austen and not the other. Rather, this judgment is simply based on their writing style. These women are both fantastic writers of their genre and I believe no one would argue otherwise. It is just that I find Jane Austen’s writing jejune. When I read Sense and Sensibility, I did not find the connection to the characters I hoped to find. The text, for me, is dragging and the story all too narrow in its depiction of society.

My favourite quotes from Jane Eyre

Given the captivation Brontë had on my literary interests, let me share with you my favourite motivating lines from one of her most celebrated books.  

“…It is weak and silly to say you cannot bear what it is your fate to be required to bear.”

“…the real world was wide, and that a varied field of hopes and fears, of sensations and excitements, awaited those who had courage to go forth into its expanse, to seek real knowledge of life amidst its perils.”

“I am no bird; and no net ensnares me; I am a free human being with an independent will.”

“…what necessity is there to dwell on the Past, when the Present is so much surer – the Future so much brighter?”

“You are original…There is something brave in your spirit, as well as penetrating in your eye…”

 

Have you read Jane Eyre? Share your favorite quotes with us. Comment below or drop me an email at mirriamdictionary@gmail.com. 😊

signature 2

 

 

 

One thought on “5 Quotes from Jane Eyre To Boost Any Dull Day

  1. I haven’t read any classic books for a long time and I can’t even finish a decent one lately because of too many errands. I have a file of books at my kindle and I can’t finish “After You” since last year.

Leave a comment