Practical life hacks · Reviews & Features · Skincare

3 things with lavender I am obsessing about

Photo by Porapak Apichodilok on Pexels.com

Lavender is not my favorite color. That’s on my bestfriends’ turf 😅. What I do love about it is its scent. A couple of days ago, I saw this video of a lavender field in Valensole, Provence, France taken by Kristina Makeeva. I cannot take my eyes off it. It was as if I am in that meadow walking between those bushes. I suddenly realized that it may not be my favorite color but it is definitely one of the scents I adore, hence, this post. 💜

Lavender and aromatherapy

Aromatherapy refers to that kind of treatment which uses natural plant extracts in the form of essential oils to improve the overall health of the body.

One of the most famous oils for this therapy is lavender, and there’s a science behind that. Plants such as lavender contain compounds called monoterpenes which contribute heavily to their flavor and aroma. Now, these compounds interact with the systems and receptors in our brain and produce anxiolytic-like effect. In plain English, when we smell the scent of lavender, it sends something to the brain which help it feel relaxed. If you want to know more about the science behind lavender, you can read the 2017 study conducted by Lopez, Nielsen, Solas, Ramirez & Jager here.

These past weeks have been terribly stressful. With the pandemic, everyone is forced to stay-at-home. Seeing friends and dining out are not options. We all have to do our part and cope with the new normal. Let me share with you these 3 lavender-infused items which I use whenever I am in a stressful situation.

Epsom salt with lavender extract

According to Healthline, epsom salt provides magnesium, promotes sleep, and helps reduce stress. I have been using this epsom salt soaking solution for a year now and I still love it. I do not use it as regular as once a week but I maintain some stocks in the house for those days when I need a pick-me-up after work.

What I love about it: I get all the benefits of epsom salt baths in small resealable packages like these (just 50g).

How I use it: 2 ways.

First, and the more common method, I combine it with my body wash. When I do that, I do not use the shower puffs because that would be too abrasive for the skin. Instead, I put the usual amount of body wash in my palm, add some of the epsom salt, and lather away. A pack usually lasts 2 to 3 showers.

Second, as a soak. I place enough warm water in a bin. Add some salt and soak my feet for 5 minutes or so.

Price: Around P50 at any Watsons branch. 😉

Calming lavender tea

I confess. I am addicted to anything tea. This lavender tea with limeflower and camomile is no exception. I initially saw this last year at one of Marks & Spencer’s shelves in Greenbelt.

What I love about it: The fact that I can take a relaxing tea time anywhere since it is individually packed. Sometimes, I even drink this during a hearing. (Bye, work-related stress! 😁)

How it tastes: Of course, like any other tea, it has a bit of bitterness to it. The camomile is also bitter but the scent is to die for. I usually drink it at night before bedtime (when I am not consuming wine 😅). Quick tip if you do not want the bitter taste of tea: add a teaspoon of raw honey. 😉

Price: around Php380 to 500 (so sorry I forgot the exact price)

Dr. Teal’s body oil with lavender

#1 rule in taking care of your skin: MOISTURIZE. I own a lot of lotions and body oils which I use depending on my mood and activity. One particular favorite is Dr. Teal’s body oil.

What I love it: It is very easy to lather and smells oh-so-nice (ofc, it’s lavender 😅). When I use it at night, my skin still smells fresh and feels soft in the morning.

How I use it: After shower, while my skin is still damp, I lather the oil on my body. A little goes a loooong way. At times when I enjoy a massage at home, I also require the masseuse to use this instead of whatever oil it is they use. You can also add this to a tub or basin of warm water for a quick refreshing soak. 😉

Price: around 500 at groceries like Watsons and S&R.

What lavender-infused products are you using? Share your love about lavender in the comments or post it on social media with the tag #mirriamdictionary ❤️

8 thoughts on “3 things with lavender I am obsessing about

  1. Thanks for this! I’ve been looking of ways to relax myself during this pandemic, it’s been emotionally draining. Lavender is now my new friend 💚💙

Leave a comment