Practical life hacks · Reviews & Features

3 things to love about burning candles

My love for scented candles began when I was a child. I first saw them on a family friend’s living room. Around a decade ago, and before the popularity of scented candles, my mum even began making her own hand-poured ones.

Through the years, my love for it kind of grew with me. I am most addicted to scents like cinnamon, fresh bursts of olive and citrus, and cucumber to name a few. However, it is not just the scents I am addicted too. I am also hooked because of the benefits I derive from lighting them in my room.

Improves mood and increases focus

Our sense of smell is incredibly powerful. Just a small whiff when passing by McDonald’s can make us feel hungry. All the same, when scented candles are lit in the room, the scent stimulates our brain, thus, boosts energy and enhances mental clarity.

Best scents: anything with mint and cinnamon will instantly help make you feel lighter and energized

Alleviates stress

The scent from candles is not the only thing that makes them calming and relaxing. The slow burning fire and warm light which candles emit can bring one to a meditative state.

Best scents: According to Dr. Chryssa Chalkia, a Clinical Integrative Psychotherapist, lavender, orange, apple, and frankincense are relaxing scents that also help battle anxiety.

Adds life to a room

Whether it’s lit or not, candles add a character in a room. It may just be sitting on a counter top or in the corner of a bathroom shelf. Anywhere it is placed, somehow, candles uplift a room one way or another.

I usually opt for candles in pretty jars so that they would look more lovely when lit (and because I like to reuse cool jars). My personal favorite is the one in the photo from Kandela.

Kandela’s marble boxes are already posh and chic. The candle itself is delicately poured in a really fancy black glass jar. I love how it makes the room look luxurious. It also makes me feel like I just won a million bucks every time I burn it. I also love the fact that it can burn for 30 hours. Now, that’s a lot of hours to relax 💖

I am most addicted to Kandela’s Osha scent. It is basically olive with a bit of bergamot. I find it really refreshing after a day’s work. The first time I received a package from them, I smelled the scent even before I could open the courier’s box! I will not be surprised if the delivery guy sniffed the package a lot. 😂

Do you have candles in your room too? What do you love about them? Share about it in the comments or post them on social media with the tag #mirriamdictionary. 😊

Leave a comment