Foodie

A Taste of Nescafé Blend & Brew Espresso Roast

Nescafé recently launched its new product line, the Blend & Brew. As you probably hear in commercials, this line has real coffee grounds. Does it mean that previous Nescafé products contain fake coffee grounds? I am really not sure what they meant with ‘real’ coffee grounds but when I saw ‘Espresso Roast’, I gave it a try.

The Nescafé Blend & Brew line has three variants: Original, Espresso Roast, and Silky Roast. Because I am a brewed kind of girl, I chose the Espresso Roast among the three.

DSC_0050

Does Espresso Roast mean it has higher caffeine?

As to the numerical amount of caffeine, I cannot say whether Espresso Roast contains more caffeine than the two other variants. What I do know is this. Espresso is a method of preparing coffee wherein hot water is forced through finely ground coffee at a high pressure.

The term ‘Espresso Roast’ is simply a marketing term. By labelling their coffee as such, Nescafé is probably trying to tell us that the coffee beans used are roasted in such a manner that yields taste similar to espresso.

Opening a sachet of Nescafé Blend & Brew Espresso Roast

When I opened Espresso Roast in a cup, the first thing I did was to look for ‘real’ coffee grounds. Well, there really are tiny dark brown granules in my cup. They are probably the real coffee grounds. The white sugar crystals, however, are more noticeable. *Gulp*

DSC_0039

The verdict

For a 3-in1 coffee, the Nescafé Blend & Brew Espresso Roast does not disappoint.

Aroma

The Espresso Roast is not as aromatic as it ought to be. I was surprised that the scent is quite delicate. It did not even make the bedroom smell like a coffee shop.

Body

Its light body is quite medium if I would compare it to other instant coffee in the market. It is silky and smooth to drink.

Flavour

Of course, compared to an actual espresso, this tastes a lot sweeter. However, in contrast to other instant coffee, the Nescafé Blend & Brew Espresso Roast has bitter tones and lingering aftertaste.

DSC_0051

Will I buy it again? Probably when lazy days of brewing hit me again.

 

Have you tried the Nescafé Blend & Brew Espresso Roast? Share your thoughts below or drop me an email at mirriamdictionary@gmail.com smiley jpg

signature 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

24 thoughts on “A Taste of Nescafé Blend & Brew Espresso Roast

  1. I guess, by the term ‘real coffee grounds’ they mean they’ve put the unprocessed roasted coffee leaves 😁
    Not sure though… I would generally not prefer a coffee with sugar already added in it, as an espresso is generally the “no taste; wake up” drink for me😂
    But, I’ll give this a shot!

    1. I really can’t tell if it can help get you through the night. Caffeine doesn’t work on me 😂 but it does taste good.

  2. I’m not really a fan of instant coffees. I still like it when you mix your own blend of coffee, sugar and cream. I’m not sure what instant coffee have that makes it’s aroma stick in your pee. But, true that it taste good.

  3. I rarely drink instant coffees, because I always get my cup at Starbuck’s. Anyway, I think Nescafé previously just use coffee powder instead of actual coffee grounds. I’ll suggest this to my coffee lover friends 🙂 – Me-An Clemente

  4. I love nescafe! Well, I love coffee in general but I always have stocks of Nescafe Creamy White for a quick cup of coffee. I’ve never tried nor seen this Blend and Brew variant. I’ll look for it on my next trip to the groceries 🙂

  5. Woow! As someone who treats coffee as water, this is great news for me. Nescafe is still the best brand for me for instant coffees. I hope I find these next time I visit the grocery.

  6. I can’t remember the last time I drink a coffee. Hahaha I’m not a coffee drinker for the longest time coz im pulpitating whenever I drink. Will tell my friends to try it and ask for their verdict 🙂 hehehe

  7. Am also a brewed person, & I prefer my brews with creamer (not milk!) & no sugar. I tried both the Silky & Espresso. Espresso doesn’t come close to brewed, not bitter enough that a coffee drinkerloves in coffee. Maybe too much sugar? It leaves a sour aftertaste that lingers-not good. Just a thought…why not a 2-in-1 (coffee & creamer) so one has the option whether to add sugar or not. Might be good for diabetics, too, who still want to enjoy coffee.

Leave a comment