Reviews & Features · Travel bug

5 Summer Essentials You Must Have

Summer has officially began. The sunny mornings, beach escapades, and halo-halo will surely be in your list this season. Although summer is a great time to bond with friends, it is a not-so great time for your skin.

Sun exposure is not entirely bad. You can get those sexy tan lines and a dose of vitamin D by staying under the sun. However, overexposure can lead to skin damage and aging. Hence, to keep your skin healthy this summer, here are 5 summer essentials in my daily tote which yours must also have.

Summer essentials #1: CC Cream with SPF

olay

I do not like to put much make up in summer. I hate the feeling of sweat mixing with make up. However, overexposure to the sun can cause skin aging, and is often associated with these signs: wrinkles, freckles, skin thinning, sunspots (also known as age spots), and uneven pigmentation.

To make sure I have a little bit of coverage and a little bit of make up, I use Olay Total Effects Pore Minimizing CC Cream with Sunscreen. It has SPF 15 that keeps me protected all day long. I use the light version, and it blends with my skin easily. It does not even feel sticky at all. Another great thing about it? It protects me from 7 signs of skin aging.

 

Summer essentials #2: Body lotion with SPF

nivea

Aside from your face, you also have to protect your entire body from the extreme heat of the sun. Every summer, I change into a lotion with sunscreen. Nivea has been my go-to summer lotion. For the past years, I use Nivea Extra White Firming Body Lotion. Last January, I began using Nivea Extra White Firming Serum with SPF 33. So far, it does keep me protected. I love the fact that it has SPF 33 which protects me against the harmful effects of UVA1/UVA2/UVB rays. Because it is a serum, it is stickier than an ordinary lotion but my skin absorbs it fast.

Summer essentials #3: Sunblock

sunblock

Of course, if you are going to the beach, a sunblock is a definite must-have. I am using Beach Hut Sunblock 100++ SPF for years now. It is creamy, can be easily applied, and smells good. Do not be so happy with the 100 SPF though. Last year, I suffered from sunburn. My back was very tanned but it was partly my fault because I bathed under the sun for an hour and a half. Which This weekend, I am trying out something new so watch out for my next blog post.

Summer essentials #4: After-sun-exposure lotion

jg aloe

It was my first time to use this product last year. When I got sunburnt, I did not know what to do. The pain made me very uncomfortable. Thank God there was Jergens Soothing Aloe Vera lotion. By the name itself, it did soothe my sunburnt back. What is more surprising is that it instantly cured my back. I just used it for less than a week, and I was good to go. Hence, this year, I am keeping it in my bag and will use it right after a swim in the sea, sunburnt or not.

Summer essentials #5: Water

water

Water is what you must not miss this season. Keeping yourself hydrated will not only keep your skin healthy but maintain your heart’s good condition as well. Hydration is necessary for the heart to easily pump blood through the blood vessels, and to other parts of the body. Staying hydrated will also prevent you from suffering heat stroke. Bring a bottle of water wherever you go. I have a bottle when I go jogging and even when I am just eating lomi at a nearby restaurant.

What are your summer essentials? Share them with us by commenting below or sending me a message at mirriamdictionary@gmail.com.

signature

21 thoughts on “5 Summer Essentials You Must Have

  1. Can’t argue with the need to protect the skin. I would suggest that always check the ingredients to make sure there are no controversial or potentially harmful ingredients. 🙂

    1. I agree, Robert. That’s why I only use the best and hypo-allergenic products for my sensitive skin 🙂

  2. Great suggestions! We should be really take extra care of our skin especially on this summer season! And of course, the most important is getting hydrated by drinking lots of water! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    1. Great tip, Marj. Extra shade is necessary to protect our skin from too much sun exposure 😉

  3. I usually do away with makeup as well when I’m out during summer since it’ll melt anyway haha! But what’s never missing are sunblock and lately, a jug of water. I may look weird with my huge water jug but at least I’m hydrated.

  4. I agree with this. It’s really hot outside and we need to have sunblock all the time to protect our skin from harmful sunlight. Also, water is very very important to keep ourselves hydrated. We should really be extra careful specially to those who wants to go to the beach because the summer heat may cause heat stroke.

  5. it’s a must. You will suffer anytime soon without proper skin protection. We should have been more concerned on applying sunblock than lotion. Prevention is always better. 😉

  6. Thanks for the helpful checklist. I personally am not a fan of putting anything on my skin, summer or not, but you do have some good points. The summer heat now has also really intensified and I guess it’s best if I do take care of my skin with your summer essentials. Thank you! 🙂

    1. Hi, Maaya! You can also try body oil or even olive oil if you do not like how lotions feel on your skin. The downside, though, is that body oils do not offer sun protection 😛

  7. Oh it is so true that we need all these. I have never been one to wear sunblock but now I realize I really do need it. It’s scary this heat.

    1. it’s true, Kathy! sunblock is a must not to maintain or get whiter skin but to protect your skin from the harmful effects of UV rays.

Leave a comment