Lifestlye · Practical life hacks · Reviews & Features · Support local

3-Step Golden Milk Latte

Like the sun, it empowers. Like daffodils, it makes me feel positive. Yes, I am definitely talking about golden milk.

Golden milk aka haldi doodh in Hindi is basically made of turmeric and milk. It is a part of Ayervedic medicine, one of the world’s oldest holistic healing system.

Things to love about golden milk

Golden milk is primarily composed of turmeric. There are various concoctions of this bright yellow milk but my personal fave is Golden Milk by Danika Nemis which I regularly purchase from Wellsmith.

This bright drink is composed of six (6) amazing ingredients: Turmeric, Coconut milk powder, coconut sugar, ginger, cinnamon and black pepper. This concoction, when drank regularly, gives the following benefits:

  • helps boost immunity
  • prevents cell damage
  • reduces inflammation
  • improves mood
  • calms the mind and body
  • decreases anxiety
  • assists in getting a better sleep
  • lowers blood sugar levels
  • aids in digestion
  • treats skin problems
  • relieves menstrual pain

I have been drinking this for roughly a year now. I have no particular schedule for it but I make sure I get a few glasses every week. I usually take it at night to get a long and relaxed slumber. I also noticed that my PMS symptoms are more manageable than before. This is not some sort of a fountain-of-youth kind of drink. I maintained a healthy diet and exercise while drinking golden milk. It was a holistic approach. 😉😉

Golden Milk Latte

I love drinking Danika Nemis’ golden milk as it is but I know some people are not so keen because of the strong turmeric taste. One trick to have a more balanced blend is to add some milk. It’s so easy! All you need is golden milk + Oatly Original both from Wellsmith. I am using a collins glass for this recipe.

Step 1: Combine golden milk and Oatly original milk and bring to a boil

Put 2 – 3 tablespoons of golden milk in a pot. Add 1 cup of Oatly original milk. Bring to a boil. If you want a stronger taste, just add more golden milk.

Step 2: Filter it out

A golden milk drink has a lot of residue which can make anyone cough when drank. I use a stainless steel pour over coffee filter to remove all that residue. It may take a while but it’s totally worth it.

Pour your boiling concoction through the filter and wait for the magic to happen.

Step 3: Add ice and serve

Once filtered, just add ice, top it with a dash of cinnamon and serve.

Have you tried golden milk? Share your recipes! Comment below or share your experience on social media with the tag #mirriamdictionary 😊

signature

Leave a comment