Pooch corner · Reviews & Features

3 Reasons Your Dog Will Love SM’s Pet Day

Dogs are often called man’s best friend. They are adorable, carefree yet sweet, and can brighten up anyone’s day. As Charles M. Schulz, creator of the comic strip Peanuts, said, happiness is a warm puppy. In celebration of this friendship between humans and dogs, SM and Paws & Tails Event Concepts and Management organized another pet day for these fur babies. {Haven’t read about our first pet day? Just click here.}

Our dogs enjoyed it as much as we did. Here are a few reasons why. {I would love to interview Barbie here, the shih tzu in most photos, but I cannot speak dog. I merely relied on her behaviour for this post haha}

  1. Socialization

Dogs need to learn how to mingle both with other animals and humans. They need socialization to learn politeness, be safe with children, be peaceful with other canines, and be calm in various surroundings.

I remember when Barbie was just a puppy she easily gets mad or simply snobbish at other dogs, and I would often tease her how she has zero “0” socialization skills. Of course, she will just raise her wet nose at me. Now, she has changed so much. She plays with other dogs, and has become sweeter than ever.

Joining SM’s pet day and other pet playdates surely improved her socialization skills. At the event, I saw her brushing other people’s legs hoping to get some attention. As cute as she is, of course she got what she wanted. A lady was even kind enough to share her dog’s food with her. A friend’s daughter who is almost 7 years old can stroke her back, and Barbie simply loves it. She also got the chance to play with other dogs. Although there were some ‘territory’ issues, everyone was well-behaved as they ought to be.

 

  1. Freebies

During SM’s pet day last March, we just got 2 packs of Pet One treats as freebies. The rest of the things we took home were prizes from the games and raffle. This pet day, there are more freebies, and Barbie enjoyed them all.

Upon registration, we got a food bowl and pet waste bag from NexGard, a pack of Vitality Classic food, and another pack from PetOne. When we signed up at the Vitality booth, we got another pack. {talk about hungry Barbie}

DSC_0040
Her take home treats! 

Dog food are not the only freebies. Barbie also enjoyed the dry grooming from Studs and Bitzes. We also won a SuperDog soap bar as a consolation prize from one of the games. She also got the chance to ride a furbaby stroller from Furmoms. They lent us their cute and colourful strollers for the duration of the event.

DSC_0177
Lovin’ the stroller 
  1. Bonding with hoo-mans ***Game of Thrones S06E09 spoiler, in case you haven’t watched it yet**

Above all, dogs enjoyed their time with their hoo-mans. Bonding with your dog is important. You cannot be a member of his ‘pack’ if you are not emotionally connected. Do not be as unintelligent as Ramsay Bolton with “My hounds will never harm me. They’re loyal beasts.” They may be loyal to you if you are feeding them enough but if your idea of bonding is scolding them too much, you are big trouble. They were {loyal}, as Sansa said.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Stop being Ramsay Bolton. Spend some time with your dog at SM’s pet day. Here are a few more snippets of an awesome afternoon.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Do you enjoy joining these kind of activities? Share your experience by commenting below or dropping me an email at mirriamdictionary@gmail.com smiley jpg

signature 2

23 thoughts on “3 Reasons Your Dog Will Love SM’s Pet Day

  1. “Hooommaann, why you no take me to pet day?” :”3 I’ve got 3 dogs and it would have been a wonderful experience if I took them to there. Plus the dog food! hehe Aww such cute doggie photos~ And yes, dogs are not beasts, they are part of the family. Boohooo to Ramsey. :p

    1. Thanks, Jen! Boo to Ramsey indeed. 😂 I hope you can bring your dogs in the next series. Not sure when that would be tho 😅

  2. If I was somewhere near your place I would love to go here with my dogs. But our SM here in Cagayan de Oro don’t have such programs 😦 But I really do hope they will have one :))

    1. Awww. The only scheds I know are SM branches in Luzon.i hope they’ll host this in Visayas and Mindanao too 😊

  3. Hubby and I were thinking of getting a new breed soon! Both our dogs died and was lost before. (We weren’t married yet then) Hopefully we can get one soon and can attend to events like this.

    1. Hi, Jay! That’s so sad to hear but I’m happy you want to take care of new furbabies 😘

  4. Didn’t known that Sm has this. I’m a mama of a furbaby as well and she loves to socialize with hooomans and other fur babies. Will try to bring my waffle here

    1. Hi, Johna! Do bring your furbaby here. He’ll love it as much as you do 😉

  5. This is such a cute event! I’m not really into pets because I feel like I can’t take the full responsibility of taking care of them. But I do appreciate them from afar, haha! I remember when we went to a cat cafe in South, Korea. I really enjoyed playing and feeding the cats!

  6. I’d love to have a pet dog but we can’t have one inside the house because my nephew had asthma. Glad that SM has activities for pet lovers too, I’m sure there were many cute dogs that participated together with their loving hoo-man friends.

    1. Hi, Karen! You probably won’t believe me if I tell you I have a terrible case of asthma and I am very sensitive to allergens. I have a list of meds to help me maintain functioning lungs haha I just can’t keep Barbie outside anymore 😂

  7. I love how having pets is incorporated even in our mall life. I think it really brings us back to humanity haha. Of course, sometimes I low key judge people who bring pets, because to some they look like mere accessories and not pet friends. But now I’m getting used to seeing them being taken around.

    1. Haha Sam! have you visited Rob Magnolia on a weekend? Pets, pets everywhere 🙂

  8. Ang saya! Ang ku-cute pa ng mga dog! I’ve always been thinking of having my own fur baby but there are a lot of considerations. Because from what I’ve been hearing, it’s like having your real baby, and with that, I have to think first if I’m ready for the responsibility. Anyhoo, I have friends who have pets and I might mention this event to them just in case they’d be of interest to join. 🙂

    1. It does feel like having a baby, Ann 😂 you need a whole bunch of patience 🐶

    1. Hi, Saswati! Well, I’m sure you have a friend who has a pet you can borrow 😉

Leave a comment