Life

Budget-friendly Valentine’s Day Date Ideas

Ahh, the month of love. It’s already the first weekend of February. I hope your Valentine’s Day date is finally laid out. If you are still thinking about the 14th, do not fuss too much about it. Let me share with you some budget-friendly dates for the most awaited day of the month (apart from 15th and 28th, of course 😜)

Movie date

If you like going to the movies, then nothing will beat watching your favourite movies or classic romance films together in the comforts of your home. Make the moment more special by building a fort (picture below) and binge-watching with bowls of popcorn.

 

Home-cooked meals

Dining out is very common during Valentine’s Day. Sure, it is comfortable for you and your S.O. but here are some downsides to dining out. First, there is less privacy because of the number of people going out on a date that night. Second, your selection is limited to the menu of the restaurant. Third, if you fail to reserve a table, chances are you will not get any.

Here is an alternative. Cook your S.O.’s favourite dish at home and have dinner together. You can even start the date right at the grocery store.

pizza

 

Game date (videogames or boardgames)

Another awesome date idea is to play games together. It does not matter if it is just Tekken or Snakes and Ladders. What matters is that you two have so much fun with each other’s company.

 

gamenight
What losing on game night looks like 😂
Dine out with friends at a local restaurant

Check out your local bar. A lot of restaurants offer group discounts. In Batangas City, D’Brothers Sports Bar and Grill offers a 5-course menu Eat-all-you-can buffet for only P499 per person. You even get a free glass of wine. Here’s the catch. If you are one of the first 10 to reserve AND you come in a group of 6 individuals, you get one (1) free pass for the buffet.

http://www.ninasogue.com/

 

DIY City Tour

Being tourists in your own city is another way to celebrate Valentine’s Day. For the tour, you can focus on a particular aspect in your town. For example, you can visit all the restaurants you haven’t tried yet or go museum-hopping. If your town is famous for old houses, like Taal, you can visit all the heritage sites there. While walking around town, don’t forget to HHWW 😉

 

https://iamwanderingwhy.wordpress.com

Remember, Valentine’s Day is not only for couples. These date ideas are also best when shared with awesome friends.

What’s your plan for Valentine’s Day? Share your thoughts. Comment below or drop me an email at mirriamdictionary@gmail.com 😚

signature 2

34 thoughts on “Budget-friendly Valentine’s Day Date Ideas

  1. Those were cool and really great and enjoyable things to do on cupid’s day. It’s quite affordable too. I like spending valentine’s day at home coz i never want to get stressed with all the traffic situations and all. Plus, i believe everyday can be valentines day. And yes, its not only for couples, we can hang out with friends too and for a mom like me, valentines means having my annoying kids around me and their dad on that special day… 🙂

    1. Same here! I prefer staying at home on heart’s day because of traffic and places get overcrowded. Uggh 😂

  2. Great tips to have a budget friendly valentine’s day! I like the ideas. I would love to go to the cinema. Do you know that movie ‘fifty shades of grey’? I would like to see the second movie on valentines day.

  3. Agree that Valentines day is for everyone. Dinner dates never gets old.. and yes can be shared with friends too. I wish I know how to cook so I can finally try home cooked meals date on Vday. Happy love month!

  4. The fort is a marvelous idea!!! Very cozy, very cheap, and you can order take-out and not leave! Hahaha. Also, MOVIES. We’ve tried going on a cruise before, but that scratches it off this particular list, hehe. 🙂

  5. Mirriam, I believe great minds thinks alike, thats what I think we would do for our valentines. Yes I love it that we dont have to crammed up with others to celebrate valentines and that we can also save cost while being with each other’s company. happy valentines =)

  6. Or maybe you can try out different activities like archery or firing or lazer tag.. just like what we did before. It was super fun! hehe. These are great ideas too! As for us this year, we haven’t really talked about it.. but maybe we’ll just stay in and watch movies. plus pizza and wings.. Just by imagining it makes my heart warm. 🙂

    1. So sad to hear your break up, Tescha. But…yes! Take a me-time. These ideas can be done whether your in a relationship or not anyway 😉

  7. I want that kind of movie date!! It is cheaper and sweeter than the one in the moviehouse. My boyfriend is on fieldwork on Valentine’s so maybe I’ll just stay home and read a book because I so sure all restaurants and mall will be super crowded! But I super agree with you. You don’t need those fancy dates on the 14th. You just need to be creative and it is much sweeter.

    1. Double yes to that, Bea! I hope you enjoy your me-time on the 14th. A glass of wine is perfect for your plans 😉

  8. Truly, Valentine’s Day need not be expensive. I don’t know for others but those you had listed above are what we pretty much do usually. Because Valentine’s or not, we should always make it a point to make our partner feel loved. I think Valentine’s is a great excuse to do something out of the ordinary which does wonders for a relationship. This Valentine’s though my partner and I agreed that instead of spending on an expensive date, we’ll save the money for our travel this year.

  9. Great ideas! These are all very doable and budget-friendly. My favorite idea would be the fort! Why didn’t I think of that?! That looks like a pretty fort… I wonder if I can pull that off! I wouldn’t know how to make one, but that is an awesome idea! Even better than just watching a movie on the couch. I don’t believe in spending too much on Valentine’s Day so these are all helpful. 🙂

  10. I can’t relate! Im single but I am happy, though. (reasons pa ee noh? hahaha). But sure that you got interesting ideas here that perfectly works for couples and even those singles with kids like me! 😀

  11. That fort is a cute idea! Today is Valentine’s Day and I am in St. Kitts in the Caribbean! So I celebrated by drinking lots of rum and doing a historical tour of an 18th century English fort. Then I watched a show and had dinner with a nice older couple who have adopted me on the cruise. So today was a very good V-Day for a single girl! I agree that you don’t need to be in a couple to like Valentine’s Day.

  12. I love the idea of building a fort, filling it with cushions and making popcorn, for a movie night. It looks and sounds so romantic, especially with those fairy lights. You can never go wrong with that, and a home cooked meal. And when you cook in two, it’s even more fun!

  13. I summed up my valentines day with some of these ideas. We wend out on lunch and he ended cooking a meal for me for dinner. We then watched a movie after dinner, before he drive me to work. haha! Yes, I was on shift on valentines day but we didn’t miss to celebrate the heart’s day. 🙂

  14. I am all for the home-cooked meals date. It’s extra special if you’ll help each other prepare the meals as it accounts for some quality time too. It’s usually how we bond at home during our dayoffs. 🙂 It’s tipid but never short of special. 🙂

  15. Those are really marvelous and interesting ideas and gifts to work on and give for Vdays! What a lovely place tho, it’s so lovely decorated, and I’m always working on something different!

  16. I would have loved to build a fort like that! We didn’t do anything special on Valentines, certainly not go out for dinner or do city tours because we already anticipated the crowd. Good ideas though. I would also suggest reserving an advance for a staycation. 🙂

Leave a Reply

