Categories

Top 5 Movies To Watch Out This February 2016

As Jean-Luc Godard, a French-Swiss film director, screenwriter and film critic, said cinema is the most beautiful fraud in the world. Whether we look at it as a fraud or as a mirror image of our society, we have to admit that we love seeing these movies.

I cannot call myself a movie guru but I would like to brand myself a film buff (for certain types of movies, if that is even possible!). I am not a horror-movie kind of girl but when it comes to films, I become an adrenaline junkie. I enjoy the action-packed ones, and superheroes. I also fancy comedies, romcoms, and classic movies like Pretty Woman and Notting Hill. I dislike drama because it spells sadness all over but I deeply appreciate this genre when it is well directed.

This coming February, there are a lot of good movies that will be released on the big screen. Here are my top picks for this month.

1. February 10 The Danish Girl **Release date in PHL

the-danish-girl-poster

Since I watched its trailer last year, I have been hooked on it. I already know I want to watch it.

The Danish Girl is based on the novel written by American writer David Ebershoff. It is a story of Einar Wegener and his discovery of Lili Elbe, and the struggles he faced as these two independent characters fight within him. It also depicts the challenges of being a transgender in a closed-minded society. The film is directed by Academy Award winning director, Tom Hooper. The lead role is played by Eddie Redmayne.

What excites me about it?

  • The director (who also directed the Oscar nominated movie, The King’s Speech)
  • How the story unfolds
  • The versatile actor, a married man in real life playing a transgender role

2. February 10 Zoolander 2 **Release date in PHL

zoolander-2-poster-slice

Everybody knows who Derek Zoolander is. Zoolander 2 is the sequel of the 2001 movie Zoolander.

What excites me about it?

  • The comical scenes
  • Penélope Cruz. Need I say more?

3. February 12 Deadpool **Release date in USA

deadpool-movie-poster-valentines

If you are not familiar with Deadpool and watched Antony Marchiando’s unofficial trailer on YouTube, you will surely think that this is another romantic-comedy movie in time for Valentine’s Day. Well, not!

Deadpool is a superhero (?) movie based on the comic book character with the same name. Wade Wilson (later on Deadpool) is diagnosed with cancer. In the hopes of getting cured, he participates in an experiment which gave him his healing powers and a ‘dark, twisted’ sense of humor, as the producers described it.

What excites me about it?

  • Morena Baccarin (who also plays the role of Dr. Leslie Thompkins in the series Gotham)
  • It is a product of cooperation between Marvel and Twentieth Century Fox
  • Deadpool’s dark, twisted sense of humor

4. February 12 How to be Single**Release date in USA

how

The city that never sleeps is full of lonely hearts waiting to find the right match. How to be single is a story of 5 single women trying to learn and grasp the ever-evolving definitions of love. This movie is based on the novel of Liz Tuccillo bearing the same title, and a follow up to the movie He’s Just Not That Into You.

What excites me about it?

      • It is a romantic comedy
      • New York stories
      • Novel-based

5. February 17 Joy **Release date in PHL

2b763f1fc6fb58bf82417306e1a0c0a0

When I came across this movie’s synopsis and trailer, I thought that it may be a good movie to watch. However, I discovered recently that it got low ratings. In Rotten Tomatoes, it only got 60%. IMDB, on the other hand, gave it a 6.7/10.

Despite this, I am still putting Joy in this list because I want to give the movie a chance. This film is a story of Joy Mangano, a woman who faced a lot of struggles emotionally, economically, and with her relationships with family and colleagues as she rises to success with her product, magic mop.

What excites me about it?

      • Based on a true story
      • Rags-to-riches story
      • Stars Jennifer Lawrence, Robert de Niro, and Bradley Cooper

 

What movie are you planning to see this February? Comment below or drop me an email at mirriamdictionary@gmail.com smiley jpg

signature

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Movies To Watch Out This February 2016

Leave a Reply

